Scottish Landscape Photographer of the Year

A few days I was delighted to learn that I have had an image commended in the 2nd Scottish Landscape Photographer of the Year 2015 (SLPOTY), curated by Stuart Low. The image in question was ‘Torridon: The Valley of the Lost’ which I took in 2012.

whittong-3

The image was taken atop Beinn Eighe and depicts a late season snow shower peppering Beinn Dearg and Beinn Alligin and the vast empty space that is Sheildaig Forest on the right.

I’m particularly pleased that this image has been recognised as it was something of a breakout image for me. It spawned a series of images that I put out on social media that helped establish my reputation as a Mountain Photographer, which culminated last year in the release of my first book Mountainscape. This image doesn’t feature in the book, but another image of Beinn Eighe that was shortlisted in the competition that sadly didn’t get any further does (below).

whittong-2

Anyway, the image that was commended will feature in the upcoming SLPOTY book and will also feature in exhibitions of SLPOTY over the next year.

It was particularly heartwarming to see that many photographers that I follow and respect have also been rewarded with commendations and category wins, amongst them;

Jason Baxter,

Camillo Berenos,

Scott Robertson,

Alex Nail,

Ian Mountford,

Esen Tunar,

Neil Barr,

Chris Swan,

Daniel Hannabuss,

Mike Prince,

Pete Hyde,

Damian Shields,

Jon Gibbs,

Brian Kerr,

Dave Queenan,

Damian Taylor,

Anita Nicholson,

Lizzie Shepherd,

Verity Milligan,

Adam Fowler,

Andy Gray,

Gareth Paxton, and,

David Breen.

A very hearty congratulations to you all.

Leave a comment